A Sustainable Business

Three Principles Separating a Sustainable Business from a Short Lived Business

Abhishek Kothari
5 min readSep 18, 2022
Luca Nicoletti on Unsplash

“If I am unable to see the defects in the machines I create myself, how can I see properly into myself?”

― Enzo Ferrari

What creates a business that lasts for centuries? Why do others entropy and fail? These are questions I have pondered for a long time. While I don’t have a comprehensive answer, I have tried to come up with a simple one. The essay below outlines a personal take on the three key principles or the three ‘S’ es that create a sustainable business. My hope is that the conclusion at the end of this essay is very easy for you (my reader) to derive.

Solutions First Mindset

One of the key challenges for a business (especially a listed corporation) is balancing its short and the long term objectives. Listed corporations have to demonstrate quarterly growth while investing in long term projects. Long term projects often lose money in the short run. The CEO of a company is therefore incentivized to stray away from a solutions first mindset. This balancing act is easier if the company is well established with significant cash reserves.

--

--

Abhishek Kothari

Futurist@The Intersection of Finance, Tech & Humanity. Stories of a Global Language: “Money”. Contributor @ Startup Grind, HackerNoon, HBR