Refuge. Inspiration. Love

Three Ephemeral Reasons For Reading

Abhishek Kothari
4 min readMay 10, 2018
Joel Filipe on Unsplash.com

Loneliness, in moderation, can be a blessing. Everyday for sixty minutes at least, I seek a solitary refuge in reading. Beyond just a hobby, reading is a deeper expression of my self. It inspires me to dream and to never forget that I can make a difference. The world is not just a realm of reason but also a figment of an imagination. At times, my normal life becomes a metaphorical hammer that wants to drive nails in a casket with my imagination entombed in it. I suspect these feelings are not solitary. For a lot of occasional misfits like me, words offer comfort and love like no other instrument in this world. Perhaps, not even humans. I am not describing a delusional darkness. I am describing a regular succor. This article explores three reasons why readers around the world enjoy reading. In doing so, it also provides examples of great books to read.

Of Jibes At Social Gatherings

You overrate my capacity of love. I don’t posess half the warmth of nature you believe me to have. An unprotected childhood in a cold world has beaten gentleness out of me — Thomas Hardy, Far From The Madding Crowd

--

--

Abhishek Kothari

Futurist@The Intersection of Finance, Tech & Humanity. Stories of a Global Language: “Money”. Contributor @ Startup Grind, HackerNoon, HBR